Crozet Play School

Kids at Play in Crozet

Glow in the Dark Discovery

Leave a comment

IMG_1998.JPG

Last week I had the pleasure of teaching my first inservice for a nearby preschool.  It was such a humbling experience to be up in front of a group of peers, and showing them different things I do in my classroom.  They were most interested in learning about sensory play, so I spent a couple of hours pulling out a bunch of my favorite materials.  Down in the bottom of the bin I uncovered my “glow in the dark” rice.  I had done a number of glow in the dark activities in the past.  It is funny how you forget all of the things you do from year to year!  My black light lamp had broken last year and I just forgot about it.  I decided after my inservice that I would get some new black lights and pull out all of my fun materials.

The first thing I grabbed was my set of fluorescent paints.  My assistant Melissa and I offered the children a few of the color options for each paint set.  It was interesting to see if they noticed that some of the paints had a brighter glow than the other paint sets.

 

These paints are actually a set of finger paints, and it is a good thing!  Many of the children couldn’t resist the temptation to paint themselves (sometimes all the way up their arms) with the paint.  They would do this to see their own body glow in the dark!  They also would paint their hands, and then press them to the paper.  They loved seeing their handprint light up on the paper.

IMG_2073.jpg

IMG_2063.JPGIMG_2062.JPGIMG_2065.JPGIMG_2004.JPGIMG_1998.JPGIMG_2007.JPGIMG_1994.JPG

The children have continued to go in and out of the art room to paint additional pieces with the glow in the dark paint.  I am planning to leave them out for a few more days for the class to enjoy.

I also set up the rice table with the glow in the dark rice.  A few years ago I dyed a batch of rice with the different fluorescent paint colors, and it is still glowing very bright under the black light.

IMG_2010.jpg

It is more difficult to see who is playing with the rice, because it is dark around the sensory tub.  But, at one point Melissa and I noticed ALL of the children surrounding the tub.  That rarely happens!  They just loved it!IMG_1989.JPG

IMG_1991.JPGIMG_1988.JPGIMG_1989.JPG

IMG_2060.JPG

Outside of our dark room we also played with lentils and a doggie set!  It is from constructive play things and the children were really drawn to it.  I thought it would be a great addition to the vet clinic that was set up in the dramatic play area.

IMG_1984.JPGIMG_1985.JPGIMG_1987.JPG

We had Yoga this Wednesday and yoga remains to be one of my favorite days of the week:

IMG_2048.jpg

IMG_2046.JPGIMG_2047.JPGIMG_2040.JPG

We also learned about Mat Man this week from the Handwriting Without Tears Program.  Mat Man uses the wooden pieces from the HWT program to help the children learn how to draw their body in more detail.  It also gives them more awareness of their physical body. We will begin to transfer this concept to paper through paint, drawing, and art.

IMG_2079.jpg

IMG_2069.JPGIMG_2072.JPGIMG_2068.JPGIMG_2067.JPG

 

 

Leave a Reply

