Crozet Play School

Kids at Play in Crozet

Lucky Leprechauns and Rainbows

Leave a comment

IMG_3557

This post is full of March madness!  I am little behind on my blogging so you will have to stick with me while I show you all of the great fun we had last month exploring green and rainbows!

 

Play Dough:

 

For play dough this month I made a batch of green dough with gold sparkles.  On the play dough tray I included shamrocks, gold coins, green straws and pipe cleaners and a collection of green dyed pasta.  The rainbow pipe cleaners were very popular with the kids.  They would form two balls and then create their very own rainbows!

IMG_3553

IMG_3554

 

You can see from the pictures all of the variety of ways the children used the loose parts with the play dough.

 

IMG_3582

 

Math Concepts:

 

To incorporate counting, numbers, and gold coins I found the idea for a “Lucky Hunt” from the No Time for Flashcards blog.  I know I have linked back to her blog before, but she really has some fantastic and simple ideas for playing and learning!  I simply used a piece of green construction paper and put seven circles on the paper to represent seven gold coins.  To add on to her idea, on my lucky hunt paper I wrote down the numbers one through seven and sent the children out to hunt for gold coins around the classroom.  Once they found their coins we pointed and counted the coins slowly together as a group.  We repeated this game a few times throughout the week!  

 

IMG_3649

 

Process Art:

 

We did some wonderful process art over the month of March! 

IMG_3597

For this rainbow painting, the children helped me squirt the colors of the rainbow on the paper and then they used a large comb scrapper and scrapped the colors across the paper.  I also cut out a shamrock from a sponge from the dollar store and they stamped shamrocks along the bottom of their rainbow.

 

IMG_3606

Above is a picture of a few of the Leprechauns the children made too!  I gave them strips of orange paper and they had to use their fine motor skills to rip the paper into strips.  This is actually quite hard work for little hands!  They we discussed the parts of the face, and they added eyes, drew the nose mouth and freckles.  I love how different each of the leprechauns looked in the end!

 

 

IMG_3670

One of my favorite projects this month was our clay rainbows.  Above C is beading each of the pony beads onto the pipe cleaners of her rainbow.  Once they were happy with the amount of beads they added to the pipe cleaners, we rolled a second ball out of clay for the other side of the rainbow.

 

Isn’t the finished project amazing?!  Again, I love how all of the rainbows are a little bit different (including Ls rainbow in the middle that just has one cloud)!

 

IMG_3669

 

 

IMG_3587

We also made shamrocks by rolling around marbles!  L is working on his shamrock above and you can see the amount of concentration he has on his project.  It takes a great deal of hand-eye coordination to get the marbles to roll the way they wanted them to in the box!

 

Rainbow Snack:

 

I asked each child to contribute one part of our rainbow snack activity (thank you Moms!!)  Everyone participated in helping to make our snack!  After washing their hands each child got to peel, cut or place their fruit in the correct order of the rainbow.  This was such a simple snack of all fruit, and was gobbled up by the children! 

 

IMG_3662

Below is my attempt at a group shot!  They really were excited about the rainbow snack, I promise!

 

IMG_3663

 

IMG_3666

 

Sensory Tables:

 

In my last blog post about Dr. Suess, I forgot to include my “Green Eggs and Ham” sensory table that we had up last month.  For this sensory table I lined the bottom of the tub with green colored sand, added the pots and pans from our kitchen, along with some of my youngest daughter’s egg toy.  There was quite a bit of baking and imaginative play that took play in this tub!

IMG_3561

Our St. Patrick’s Day tub was filled to the brim with split peas, gold coins, pots of gold, and shamrock treasures.  It was used again and again for pouring, scooping, hiding, counting, and talking about all things green!

 

IMG_3581

For the first time we explored Jell-O in school.  I made a very large batch of green Jell-O.  I cut the Jell-O into small squares and laid it on one of our large white trays.  They children spent time exploring it, squishing it, and using their hands to investigate the different texture of Jell-O.

IMG_3653

After they had explored the Jell-O, I added a bowl of green shaving cream and some paint brushes.  I didn’t give them any directions for this portion of the exploration.  They enjoyed scooping the green cream onto the Jell-O tray and mixing it up.

IMG_3656

 

Process Art:

 

I made a batch of homemade paint last month too!  I mixed clear hair gel (from the dollar store), liquid watercolors, and confetti.  The gel give the paint a shiny texture and is sticky enough to pick up the confetti as you paint with it!  This paint tends to bleed while it dries, so I simply rolled out large pieces of butcher paper to let them paint on.

IMG_3569

 

 

IMG_3570

Math and Shapes:

 

Another theme that I wove into March was a discussion on shapes!  We read a few shape books, and we will be re-visiting shapes again in May.  Both of these great art ideas below came from two websites I highly recommend.  I actually get both of them sent directly to my email account when they post a new blog post. 

 

IMG_3576

In the picture above I drew on large pieces of finger painting paper with a sharpie different shapes.  I ordered these wonderful confetti finger paints from Discount School Supply and they are really great.  The colors are vibrant and each color has different little pieces of confetti in the paint.  They had to use the finger paint to fill in the shapes on the paper.  I saw this idea on Fun at Home With Kids!  It is a wonderful blog, packed full of ideas!

 

IMG_3584

 

Another great shape project we did last month came from the Imagination Tree blog.  She posts about all sorts of things from sensory bins, art projects, and homemade light tables.  This activity was so simple and cheap too!  I took old cardboard tubes and bent them into different shapes.  The kids used the tubes as stampers and put the tube in the paint and stamped it onto the paper.  Great for shape recognition and color re-enforcement! 

 

I will stop here, but I still have more to share from last month’s adventures!  Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

