Crozet Play School

Kids at Play in Crozet

Pumpkin Soup and Pumpkin Goop

2 Comments

DSC_0117

I’m not even sure what to even call this fun mixture, but pumpkin goop or pumpkin mud seems fitting.  We mixed this interesting sensory recipe together as a whole group.  It called for sand, cornstarch, pumpkin pie spice, and water.  It turned into a combination of pumpkin smelling mud that just made you want to dig your hands in and get dirty!  The pictures tell the story of how much fun we had with this stuff!

DSC_0106

We mixed the pumpkin mud together and then I had ice cream containers (from the dollar store), spoons, and small cups.  They went to town!

Below is a picture of P inspecting the pumpkin mud as it dropped from one container to the other.  It was very messy, but very fun!

DSC_0103

DSC_0105

I took a whole series of pictures while L was working with the pumpkin mud.  She stayed at this sensory table for a long period of time.  You can see how involved she was with playing, touching, pouring, and learning about this fun sensory experience!

 

DSC_0108DSC_0113

DSC_0116

DSC_0119DSC_0120

 

Another pumpkin themed sensory table was our Pumpkin Soup.  I used orange tinted water, bowls, scoops, turkey basters, colanders, and pumpkin gems to create this sensory table.  First I read the book Pumpkin Soup by Helen Cooper as our read aloud.   Then I invited the children to come over and pretend to be one of the main characters from the book, the duck, the squirrel, or the cat, and make their own pumpkin soup for each other!

 

IMG_2684

 

IMG_2695

 

 

Pumpkin Investigation (Science)

 

We have been working hard to learn about pumpkins.  Over the past two months we have discussed and read about the life cycle of the pumpkin, and taken quite a bit of time to inspect our classroom pumpkin.  The final step was to of course cut open and scoop out our classroom pumpkin.  We took turns scooping out pumpkin seeds from our classroom pumpkin.  A few children helped me with digging for seeds, but I found myself working on this alone! 

 

IMG_2624

 

DSC_0180

Then I cleaned the seeds and dried them.  We used the seeds for counting practice.  I brought children over one at a time to work with me on number sequence, one to one correspondence, and greater than and less than concepts.  I would change the numbers and make the investigation more or less challenging based on the needs of my students.  Even Snow White sat down to do some counting with me…

IMG_2714

 

More Table Invitations:
IMG_2615

Sorting colored pasta.  I left this large bowl of dyed pasta out on the tables over a series of a few days.  I invited children to sort the pasta based on their color and distinct shape.  Then we got to try sewing for the first time, and both classes made their own pasta necklaces!

IMG_2710

 

DSC_0191

Felt turkey patterns:  The children chose one card and then used the felt feathers to create the pattern around the turkey.  Wonderful math and problem solving skills being used! 

 

IMG_2672

Fall Themed Color Sorting:  sort the leaves based on color and sort the pumpkin gems based on color.

 

IMG_2629

Pattern Blocks:  I originally laid out this invitation to get the children sorting the pattern blocks based on color.  But, once they quickly mastered the color sorting, they started creating designs with the pattern blocks on the felt pieces.  Very open ended play with lots of math concepts involved!

IMG_2641

C is working hard on one of our thanksgiving themed learning trays.  She was picking up the pumpkin candies using the large tongs and putting them in the ice cube tray.  The smaller tongs were left as a challenge once the large tongs were mastered.

 

DSC_0185

This picture makes my heart happy as my class is all gathered around one mat and two learning trays.  They are talking, taking turns, practicing their beading and cutting skills in a social setting.  One tray they are using is our beading learning tray.  There is a bowl of wooden beads and pipe cleaners for stringing.  The second tray is filled with lots of things to spark cutting practice.  The tray has strips of paper, straws, and bits of yarn.  The straws are very fun, and they love watching the straw pop apart while they are cutting.

DSC_0183

While E is waiting for her friends to arrive she often pulls out the trays and explores them when I am getting the classroom organized for the morning.

DSC_0181

 

 

Process Art:

 

As we finished up our pumpkin investigation we made pumpkin sun catchers for the classroom windows. 

 

IMG_2663

 

Process Art Turkeys:

I found so many wonderful turkey crafts online.  I really wanted to make turkeys with the kids that were more open ended.  We started with a large piece of finger painting paper and a variety of paint brushes and paints.  I let the kids paint in any way they wanted.  I encouraged them to cover as much of the paper as possible.

IMG_2689

Their large papers looked like this:

IMG_2691

 

Then I cut apart their paintings into long feather pieces for their turkeys.  Then they glued their feathers and turkey body onto a large piece of construction paper for a large process art turkey!  I think the finished product turned out lovely!

IMG_2704

IMG_2706

 

For more process art both classes made Thanksgiving luminaries for their family dinner table.  First we found small leaves outside and I laid them down under a book to flatten them out. 

IMG_2617

 

IMG_2632

Once they were glued on and dried we added white tissue paper to the exterior of the glass luminary.  The results were so special!  I even lit the candles for the group because they were unsure of how the glass would look once it was covered in tissue paper. 

IMG_2656

 

Play Dough:

I created a turkey play dough tray for the past week as a table invitation to play.  The turkey tray had brown play dough, googly eyes, foam beaks and at first candy corn.  Do not put candy corn in your play dough!!  I found out the hard way that it starts to melt inside the dough, and it ruined a bunch of the batch.   I’m not sure what happened, but lots of play dough and candy corn got tossed in the trash!

IMG_2681

 

DSC_0186

DSC_0188

 

I have a few more turkey and Thanksgiving projects up my sleeve!  Until I get everything posted have a wonderful Thanksgiving holiday!

2 thoughts on “Pumpkin Soup and Pumpkin Goop

  1. Pingback: Pumpkin Craft Ideas for Kids - Her Family Trends

  2. Pingback: Featuring Fall | Crozet Play School

Leave a Reply

